Skip to content

This Labor Day, many people will drive to their friends and relative’s houses to celebrate. One part of celebrating the holiday, for many, is having a drink or two. This is completely fine, as long as those who drink either have a place to stay or are not the ones driving. Unfortunately, many people will be arrested for DWIs this Labor Day, and if you are one of them, you must retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. Read on and speak with our firm to learn more about the consequences of a DWI charge in New Jersey and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am charged with a DWI in New Jersey?

If you are someone who has been arrested with a BAC of under .15%, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • Additional fines and fees
  • Increased insurance premiums

What are the penalties for a second NJ DWI?

If this is your second time being charged with driving while intoxicated, you risk facing even harsher consequences that may truly haunt you for years to come. The typical consequences of a second DWI in NJ are as follows:

  • A 2-year license forfeiture
  • A potential $1,000 fine, as well as an additional 3-year surcharge of $1,000 per year
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • You will have to install the ignition interlock device for the duration of your license suspension, as well as between 1-3 years after
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to AERF
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service

Will I go to jail for a third DWI in New Jersey?

For a third DWI in New Jersey, you risk spending up to 180 days in jail, as well as many additional penalties, some of which are as follows:

  • A 10-year license suspension
  • A fine of up to $1,000 as well as an additional 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may have to participate in up to 90 days of community service
  • You will most likely have to spend between 12-48 hours in the IDRC
  • You will have to use the Ignition Interlock Device during your license suspension and 1-3 years afterward

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

Here at McNerney & McAuliffe, we understand how confusing certain legal matters can be, which is why we are here to provide clients from all walks of life with the experienced, compassionate legal guidance they need. If you require the legal assistance of an attorney to help you through a criminal law matter, personal injury matter, family law matter, or otherwise, you can turn to us. Contact McNerney & McAuliffe today to learn more about what we can do for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What You Need to Know About Post-Judgment Modifications in New Jersey

In the months or years after a divorce, things change. For this very reason, New Jersey courts often grant divorced…

Read More
  What You Need to Know About Restaurant Liability in New Jersey

If you are someone who was recently injured in a restaurant accident in New Jersey, you may require compensation to…

Read More