Skip to content

New Jersey is notoriously strict on gun owners, and though the state does recognize the Second Amendment, gun ownership is becoming increasingly under scrutiny in New Jersey. If you are caught violating any gun law, even by mistake without ever committing a violent offense, New Jersey courts will frequently seek harsh punishments against you. That is why it is so important you understand the gun laws in our state. Please continue reading and reach out to our New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about New Jersey gun laws and remember–if you have been charged with a gun crime, we are here to help.

What are some examples of gun laws in New Jersey?

Gun laws in New Jersey are extensive and frequently complex. Some of the many gun laws New Jerseyans must abide by at all times are as follows:

  • It is illegal to possess, purchase or sell machine guns without valid licenses
  • You may not deface a firearm or remove its markings
  • It is unlawful to even possess a firearm that has already been defaced or tampered with
  • Certain people that have disabilities or physical defects that make it dangerous to handle a firearm may not own one
  • People in New Jersey must obtain one handgun permit per handgun
  • If you are younger than 18 years old, you may not purchase or own firearms except under very specific circumstances
  • If you are looking to possess, sell, transfer, or otherwise handle guns in the state of New Jersey, you must first be a licensed dealer under New Jersey law or possesses a valid Firearms Purchasers Identification Card.
  • You may not falsify information on application forms. If you do, you will most likely face serious consequences.
  • If you are under 21 years old, you may not possess a handgun or pistol.
  • If you’ve been convicted of a crime, you may now own a firearm.
  • If you are deemed to be drug or alcohol dependent, you cannot own or possess firearms

We know how frightening the criminal justice process can be, which is why we are here to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve and need to fight your charges.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you or someone you know is facing criminal charges in the state of New Jersey, you need an experienced attorney on your side who is ready to help you through every step of the legal process going forward. Contact the legal team at McNerny & McAuliffe today. Our firm is also experienced in handling legal matters relating to divorce, family law, personal injury law, and more. We are here to help–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  Will the New Jersey Statute of Limitations Be Affected by the Coronavirus?

In the state of New Jersey, there is a statute of limitations in place for all those who wish to…

Read More
  How to Protect Yourself From the New Coronavirus

The new coronavirus, COVID-19 has taken the nation by storm. However, if you have not yet contracted the virus, there…

Read More