Though New Jersey has recently allowed a vote on the legalization of marijuana on the 2020 ballot, until then, the drug remains illegal, and if commit a marijuana-related crime, you may face very serious consequences. Please read on and reach out to our New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the penalties for marijuana-related crimes.
What happens if I am charged with marijuana possession in New Jersey?
The penalties for marijuana possession in New Jersey are as follows:
- 50 grams or less: A disorderly person penalty, up to 6 months in jail, and a $1,000 fine
- More than 50 grams: This is a crime, and you face up to 1.5 years in jail and a $25,000 fine
However, if you are caught in the possession of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, you may have to complete 100 hours of community service as part of your sentence.
What are the consequences of selling marijuana in New Jersey?
Selling marijuana is an extremely serious offense in the eyes of New Jersey courts. If charged, you may face the following consequences:
- Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years of incarceration and a potential $25,000 fine
- More than 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds: Up to 5 years of incarceration and a $25,000 fine
- Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: A potential 10-year jail sentence, as well as a $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds: Up to 20 years of incarceration and a $300,000 fine
- The distribution of marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: Up to-5 years in jail, as well as a potential $150,000 fine
- The distribution of marijuana to a pregnant woman: Potential sentence doubling
What are the penalties for growing marijuana in New Jersey?
If you are caught growing marijuana in New Jersey, you may face serious penalties that could land you in jail. They are as follows:
- 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds (or less than 10 plants) is a potential 5-year jail sentence and a $25,000 fine
- Between 5 and 25 pounds (10, but less than 50 plants) is a potential 10-year jail sentence and a $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds, or 50+ plants: Up to 20 years in jail, and a potential $300,000 fine
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
When someone is injured due to another party’s negligence, it is only right that they receive the justice they deserve. As a victim, your only job is to call us, and we will take it from there. Please, do yourself a favor and do not wait. If you or someone you know was injured in an accident and is seeking financial compensation, contact the legal team at McNerny & McAuliffe today. Our firm is also experienced in handling legal matters relating to divorce, family law, criminal law, and more. We are here to help.