Skip to content

Driving a car is a huge responsibility–this is no secret, yet many motorists disobey the rules and regulations of the road every single day. Of course, this does not make them bad people, though these laws are in place for a reason, and if a driver is behaving negligently, there is a good chance he or she will cause an accident. While negligence isn’t exactly inexcusable, it is not fair for one mistake to haunt you for years to come. Thankfully, our experienced attorneys know how to aggressively fight DWI charges, which can drastically improve your chances of having your charges mitigated. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

Just because this is only your first time getting charged with a DWI does not mean the courts will punish you with a “slap on the wrist.” New Jersey takes drunk drivers very seriously, so if you are charged, you may face the following:

  • A 3-month license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC, with applicable fees
  • A fine of $250-$400
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund

What are the penalties for a second-offense DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey courts will now treat you as a repeat offender. This means you must hire an experienced attorney as soon as possible who is ready to fight for your rights. Here are some of the penalties you may face:

  • A 2-year loss of license
  • A fine of $500-$1000
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC, with applicable fees
  • An interlock device installation for the duration of your license suspension and 1-3 years after
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service

What are the consequences of a third or subsequent DWI offense in New Jersey?

If this is your third or subsequent offense, you are now facing charges that will affect you for the rest of your life. You cannot afford to wait. Hire an attorney who will aggressively combat these charges today. You may be up against:

  • A 10-year loss of license
  • A fine of $1000
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC with applicable fees
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and 1-3 years afterward
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

If you were arrested for a DWI, you may feel the ramifications for years to come. This is why you should not hesitate to contact our knowledgeable firm to set up a consultation today. It may save you in the long run.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  How to File a Lawsuit For a Wrongful Death in New Jersey

Nobody ever wants to think about the day they will lose a loved one. It’s both heartbreaking and frightening. However,…

Read More
  What are the Penalties for a DWI in the State of New Jersey?

Driving a car is a huge responsibility--this is no secret, yet many motorists disobey the rules and regulations of the…

Read More