Skip to content

Do not make the mistake of getting behind a wheel while under the influence of alcohol this Thanksgiving weekend. New Jersey treats DWI offenses very seriously, so if you are charged, you will need a skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorney to fight for your rights.

What are the consequences of a Thanksgiving first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

DWI charges in New Jersey are not taken lightly, which is why if you are facing one on Thanksgiving weekend, you will likely face harsh life-altering consequences, even if it is just your first offense. If you are charged with a first offense DWI charge with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08-.09% in New Jersey, you will likely face the following:

  • A $500 fine
  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • You will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days in jail
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

Furthermore, you will need to note if your blood alcohol concentration is .10% or above at the time you were pulled over, your penalties will be more severe.

What are the consequences of a second DWI offense in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey treats second DWI offenses even harsher because you will be categorized as a repeat offender. As a result, you will likely face the following:

  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own expense
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

Will I go to jail for a third DWI offense?

You will need an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side if you have obtained a third DWI charge. The penalties of a third offense DWI will most likely include:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

If you or someone you know is facing criminal charges in the state of New Jersey, you need an experienced attorney on your side who is ready to help you through every step of the legal process going forward. Contact the legal team at McNerny & McAuliffe today. Our firm is also experienced in handling legal matters relating to divorce, family law, personal injury law, and more. We are here to help–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What to know about starting the divorce process in NJ

An unfortunate reality of the world today is that divorces are on the rise. Whether you’re beginning the divorce process,…

Read More
  The Importance of Saving Your Divorce Decree | What You Should Know.

A copy of your divorce decree is not only important because it is the official document that establishes your divorce…

Read More