Skip to content

Unfortunately, many people get behind the wheel after drinking on Halloween night. It is important to understand the consequences of a DWI charge in New Jersey. Continue reading to learn more about the severity of this offense and speak with our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today.

What are the consequences of a Halloween night DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not tolerate DWI charges, which is why if you are facing one on Halloween night, you will likely endure harsh life-altering consequences, even if it is just your first offense. A first offense DWI charge with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08-.09% in New Jersey, will likely result in the following punishments:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days in jail
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

It is also noteworthy in New Jersey if your blood alcohol concentration is .10% or above at the time you were pulled over, your consequences will be more stringent.

What are the penalties for a second offense DWI?

The penalties of a second DWI offense will be even harsher because you will be treated as a repeat offender. You will likely face the resulting consequences following a second offense DWI:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your third DWI offense, you will need to hire the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney right away. The consequences of a third offense DWI will likely include the following:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

Here at McNerney & McAuliffe, we understand how confusing certain legal matters can be, which is why we are here to provide clients from all walks of life with the experienced, compassionate legal guidance they need. If you require the legal assistance of an attorney to help you through a criminal law matter, personal injury matter, family law matter, or otherwise, you can turn to us. Contact McNerney & McAuliffe today to learn more about what we can do for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What to know about starting the divorce process in NJ

An unfortunate reality of the world today is that divorces are on the rise. Whether you’re beginning the divorce process,…

Read More
  The Importance of Saving Your Divorce Decree | What You Should Know.

A copy of your divorce decree is not only important because it is the official document that establishes your divorce…

Read More