Skip to content

If you are charged with a New Year’s Eve DWI, you can expect devastating consequences. Reach out to our Bergen County criminal defense attorneys today to learn more about the penalties and how you can ensure you don’t get charged this holiday season.

What will happen if I receive a DWI this New Year’s Eve in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey takes DWI charges very seriously, even if it is just your first offense. If law enforcement catches you this New Year’s Eve with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

If you have a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, you can expect even harsher penalties, including:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the penalties of a second-offense DWI?

In the event that you receive your second offense, you will most likely face the following:

  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

What are the penalties after a third DWI offense?

As expected, a third offense DWI charge can end up with life-altering outcomes. If you received this offense, you will need a skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney, otherwise, you will likely encounter:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM

Here at McNerney & McAuliffe, we understand how confusing certain legal matters can be, which is why we are here to provide clients from all walks of life with the experienced, compassionate legal guidance they need. If you require the legal assistance of an attorney to help you through a criminal law matter, personal injury matter, family law matter, or otherwise, you can turn to us. Contact McNerney & McAuliffe today to learn more about what we can do for you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What to know about starting the divorce process in NJ

An unfortunate reality of the world today is that divorces are on the rise. Whether you’re beginning the divorce process,…

Read More
  The Importance of Saving Your Divorce Decree | What You Should Know.

A copy of your divorce decree is not only important because it is the official document that establishes your divorce…

Read More