Skip to content

Memorial Day kicks off the pool party and barbecue season, and people will travel from all over to be with their friends and family. Because of this, however, many people will be on the roads, and many of them will be driving while intoxicated. If you are charged with driving while intoxicated this Memorial Day Weekend, you must retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Please continue reading to learn more about DUIs in New Jersey.

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

Though in recent months, the penalties for first-offense DWIs with a BAC of less than .15% have been somewhat reduced. For a first offense, you now will only receive a license suspension of 30 days, as long as you install the ignition interlock device and pay the associated fees. That being said, a DWI will go on your record, and you can inspect your insurance premiums to drastically increase, you will have more points on your license, and you will most likely have to pay additional fines. Rather obviously, even a first offense DWI is no joke.

What happens if I get a second DWI in New Jersey?

For a second DWI offense, you can expect that the courts will now treat you as a repeat offender, and you will most likely face a far harsher courtroom this time around. For a second DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • A 2-year loss of license
  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC, with applicable fees
  • An interlock device installation for the duration of your license suspension and 1-3 years after
  • $100 to AERF

What are the consequences for a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your third DWI, you cannot go another minute without an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. For a third DWI, you may face the following consequences:

  • A 10-year loss of license
  • A fine of $1000
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A 3-year surcharge of $1000 per year
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC with applicable fees
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and 1-3 years afterward

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

If you were arrested for a DWI, you may feel the ramifications for years to come. This is why you should not hesitate to contact our knowledgeable firm to set up a consultation today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  What Are My Rights to Protest in the United States?

Over the past week, mass protests have taken place around the country in the wake of the untimely death of…

Read More
  Can I Sue For a Slip and Fall Injury in New Jersey?

Slip and fall accidents happen nearly every day in New Jersey, and though they oftentimes do not result in serious…

Read More